xsession T-Shirts

xsession tshirts

Random Pic

extreme sport photos

Sponsored Links

Extreme Sport News

Stewart wins AMA Supercross race in Oakland

by Press Release [February 1, 2012]

Stewart wins AMA Supercross race in Oakland James Stewart and Joe Gibbs Racing came to Oakland with heavy hearts, as team mechanic Mark “Tex” Adams passed on Friday morning. The 28-year old Carrolton, TX native was on the shoulder of Interstate 4 near Lake Helen, FL helping another motorist whose car had broken down. After being struck by a vehicle, Adams suffered a fatal impact. Thoughts are with Mark’s family, friends and teammates during this time period.

With Round 4 ahead of him, James Stewart focused on the task at hand. He was quick in practice, but even quicker in Heat 2. After struggling through the first corner and letting Villapoto and Short slip by, he bounced through the doubles and triples until taking first with four laps to go. For the remainder of Heat 2, Stewart flew through each of the sections and maintained the lead.

Heat 1 went to KTM’s Ryan Dungey, fresh off a SX win in Phoenix. He took the holeshot straight out of the gate, remaining uncontended for the 8-lap heat.

The usual suspects lined the gates for Saturday night’s main race in Oakland. Chad Reed took the Nuclear Cowboyz holeshot, maintaining pack leader for nearly half the race. But Stewart wouldn’t remain far back for long, catapulting the #7 Toyota/JGRMX/Yamaha bike past Reed into first on lap 10. After that, Stewart maintained a healthy lead until his first-place finish.

“I got in a rhythm out there tonight and put together a great race,” Stewart proclaimed, dedicating his win to the legacy of Mark Adams.

Eli Tomac won the SX Lites class, his second in a row this season.

Oakland SX Round 4 Lites Results

1. Eli Tomac
2. Marvin Musquin
3. Zack Osborne
4. Ryan Sipes
5. Matt Moss
6. T. Baker
7. Nicco Izzi
8. Max Anstie
9. Martin Davalos
10. Dean Wilson

Oakland SX Round 4 Results

1. James Stewart
2. Chad Reed
3. Ryan Villopoto
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Andrew Short
6. Kevin Windham
7. Davi Millsaps
8. Jake Weimer
9. Justin Brayton
10. Josh Hansen